• Espanol
  • Portuguese
  • English


Latin American chapter and of the Caribbean of the world aquaculture society (LACC-WAS for its acronym in English) began at the beginning of the 1990s, by the initiative and dedication of Dr. Dallas E. Alston and the collaboration of people like Dr. Ángel F. Chicon-Olivares and his wife Noret Gómez Vargas, working in Puerto Rico.

In 1994, the chapter of Latin American and the Caribbean was accepted formally as a chapter of the world aquaculture society, when approved the Statute of the chapter and the Dr. Dallas E. Alston was its first President.

The first President elected by the members of the chapter was the Dr. Itamar de Paiva. From the beginning the chapter stays true to its principles of spreading knowledge and serve as a vehicle for sharing information among its members and others interested in the area of aquaculture in the region of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Throughout these years, we recognize the effort and voluntary dedication of previous Presidents who contributed greatly to the strengthening of the LACC. The members of the chapter would like to emphasize them the importance of their active participation and the exercise of the vote to elect future Presidents who will give you shape and continuation of the activities of the chapter in the future. Many thanks to the members and ex-presidents of LACC-WAS


  • 1994-1996

    Dallas E. Alston
    USA-Puerto Rico
  • 1996-1998

    Itamar Paiva
  • 1998-2000

    Jorge Calderón
  • 2000-2002

    Alejandro F. Tom
  • 2002-2004

    Osires de Melo
  • 2004-2006

    Ricardo C. Martino
  • 2006-2007

    Mario Velasco
    España-Puerto Rico
  • 2007-2008

    Rodrigo Roubach
  • 2008-2009

    Sergio Zimmermann
  • 2009-2011

    Juan Pablo Lazo
  • 2011-2013

    Maria Célia Portella
  • 2013-2015

    Antonio Garza de Yta